top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekimberlynhule

Week 10 Response

Updated: Nov 20, 2018

Experiment: 季節.py

For this week's experiment, I took my previous week's experiment where I wrote a code poem called seasons.py. Rather than using Google translate to translate the poem, I tried to manually translate it to Japanese. I will picture both poems below.







Project title: Life in the Digital World


A 100-words project summary:

My project will be based in an AR world where there are QR codes a viewer can look at through their mobile device. Each QR code will represent a character in the technology or digital world (e.g. mouse, keyboard, earphones, CD-ROM). When a viewer hovers their mobile device camera over the QR code, text will appear. My project personifies each character and the text represents something the character is saying. Each QR code will hopefully have a picture of the character on it. This project pokes at how people are constantly in touch with their devices now and as a result, their devices have become such a significant part of their lives by personifying parts of the device(s).


Keywords:

- Mouse

- Keyboard

- Screen

- Pixel

- Wi-fi

- Bluetooth

- Webcam

- Battery

- CD-ROM

- Earphones

- Speakers

- Smart phone


Do you want to show your work on Wednesday 12/12 (We will talk more about it in class)?

No thank you


Concept: What is your project idea? Why do you want to do it? What does it tell us about language/or the relationship between language and technology?

- My project idea is to have 5-10 different QR codes that a viewer than observe through their mobile device. Each QR code will have a message. I’m hoping to have pictures of each character on the QR code, but I’m not sure how difficult that will be technically.

- I am choosing to do this project because I like the interactivity of this project and how it digitizes the real world. Also, AR is super cool and fun for the viewer using their mobile device to look at the words from different angles and distances.

- By personifying technology and having them appear in the AR world, it speaks to how technology and the digital world is becoming more and more integrated into our everyday lives. We interact with our laptops and phones constantly.


Implementation: What is the ‘digital’ aspect of your work? What technology/tools are you going to use?

- I will be using a mobile device to observe QR codes through the camera in the mobile device

- I will AFrame and AR.js from github.com/jeromeetienne/AR.js


Inspirations & References: Conceptual, technical, artistic, visual…

- My inspiration is the performance video we saw in class where the artist had a mobile device and was walking around, looking at the words that have appeared in the AR world.

- Another inspiration is my week 3 experiment, where I personified two characters (mouse and keyboard) that were presented with two different text-to-speech voices.


Project Plan: Have you done any early experiment related to the project? What do you still need to learn/work on to make your piece? What’s the challenge? Are there different possibilities you would like to explore with your final project? Try to come up with a rough project schedule.

- Yes, my experiment from week 8 is where I first implemented AR and made text appear above QR codes.

- Currently, my past experiment only works on the computer, but not on the mobile device. It also does not work well on different devices. I’ve only tested it on my computer and it seems to only work on my computer. For the final project, I would like to implement it for mobile devices, have it work more reliably across different devices, and be able to use different QR codes for different text.

- The biggest challenge is coding using AFrame and implementing functionality of the project. The hardest part for me will be the learning curve with AFrame.

- My rough project schedule is:

- By 11/25: have program working on mobile devices (in a browser)

- By 12/2: implemented multiple QR codes

- By 12/9: completed project with QR codes displaying appropriate texts

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Project Writeup

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Wg3Wkx37MCBYkda7VXgWkhO_4bpD3klD

Week 12 - Project Update

Open this QR code on your laptop/desktop browser Open this page on your phone's browser In my week 8 experiment, the experiment involved text appearing near QR codes in the AR space. I used the webcam

bottom of page